Eyes on My Blog?

General chat about whatever. Maybe we can bring back the awesome that was the Suite101 forum networking and advice we had in past years.

Moderator: Britney Spears

Eyes on My Blog?

Postby Kiuka Finnegan » Fri Jul 22, 2011 9:48 pm

I'm not a writer by profession. I belong to a different profession, but I have a blog where I post articles related to said profession. I'm not the most active blogger in the blogosphere, although I do try to post a couple of new and very well-researched original posts per month.

My question is: How do I go about getting more eyes on my blog? (I'm getting between 30 and 80 new visitors per day.)

I know some of you are pros. If you could offer your top 5 quick-and-dirty secrets for blog promotion, I would appreciate it!
Kiuka Finnegan

Re: Eyes on My Blog?

Postby mostprobablies » Sat Jul 23, 2011 2:36 pm

How old is it? That's not too bad if it's a new blog. How many posts per month do you do? The best thing to do is update once a day. If you can't do that (I know that's rough), try to do as much as possible each week. At least once a week.

I take a real none-spammy approach. I'm not a big networking type person. I'd rather work with advertising.

Get backlinks. This is a tricky one. I create an experiment blog and this is what I did. I signed up for http://BloggerLinkUp.com/ and created an ad-blast that said I would provide a 350-400 word article in the tech related niche for free for an inline link. I had a ton of success. I had so many offers that I had to decline some bloggers. I wrote content for them, and I included my link. I did that with about 10 people. It's free and all you lose is your time. I got PR2 in the last update on the blog, so it did what I wanted.

You can also use blogads for advertising. You get an ad on a blogger's blog and depending on traffic/revenue, you can pay really cheap prices for 2 weeks ads. You can choose position/location and the type of blog you want to advertise on.